Review: The Arthurian Omen by GG Vandagriff

Review: The Arthurian Omen by GG VandagriffTitle: The Arthurian Omen
Author: GG Vandagriff (Blog, Facebook)
Genre: Mystery
Pages: 320
Publisher: Shadow Mountain
Format: Paperback
Buy on Amazon • Add to Goodreads • Add to Shelfari
A Celtic scholar is brutally murdered when she discovers a clue to a priceless fifth-century manuscript that could prove the identity of King Arthur.  Determined to find the ancient relic and avenge her sister's death, Maren Southcott begins a quest that immediately puts her own life in danger.

In the tradition of Mary Higgins Clark, The Arthurian Omen weaves a tale of mystery and suspense as pursuit of the manuscript winds through the medieval castles and monasteries of Wales.  Stalked by a psychopath with delusions of a Welsh revolution, Maren is shaken to the core when a new crisis threatens to destroy the one person she loves most.

Can she find the manuscript before the murderer strikes again?  Or, is the manuscript--and the legend--better left buried in the past? Summary from Dust Jacket

I found out about this book through my ward’s book club.  The author’s LDS and lives in Provo.  She came, as a special guest, to the book club meeting.  Unfortunately, I wasn’t able to go.

I liked the book, even though it felt like there were too many story lines going on at the same time and the ending was a little disappointing.  I’m not really sure why the ending felt disappointing, except that I was expecting more.  The story had a good concept.  And, the mystery surrounding the story was very intriguing.  I also liked the alternate theory of the Arthurian Legend since I’m a big fan of King Arthur and Camelot.  I actually wished the story would’ve focused on that aspect of the story more.

two-starstwo-stars

Leave a Reply